Simon Doesn’t Say

As I finish preparing for my next worthwhile post, I’ll throw this thoroughly worthless bit hogwash at you.

Just as I’ve “shown” the Anti-Catholic origins of the “Hokey Pokey” (see previous post), so also have I suspected for a long time a similar shameful parentage of the game “Simon Says.”  However, it doesn’t attack the doctrine of the Eucharist but, in fact, the Papacy.

You see, St. Peter is the first Pope, as Catholics shamelessly assert, and all subsequent Popes are known to fill Peter’s place (and are, in a sense, “Peter”).  However, “Peter” wasn’t always Peter’s name.  He was originally just “Simon.”  Jesus renamed him because “Peter” meant “Rock” … for, as Jesus said, it was on Peter that He would build His Church … whatever that meant (Catholics know … it seems that Protestants aren’t sure).  In any case, the “Simon” in Simon Says actually refers to St. Peter … and, by extension, refers to the Pope (so my theory goes).

Now then, anti-Catholics enjoy that good old accusation about how Catholics have to do whatever the Pope says (no matter what) or else they’ll get excommunicated (something like that).  We see such a tyrannical, arbitrary, and equally amusing dynamic in the game Simon Says.  If a person doesn’t do what Simon says … they get kicked out.  Not only that, if they go beyond what Simon says … they get kicked out.  People must be slaves to the Supreme Pontiff like they do Simon and follow whatever he tells you … and if he tricks you and makes you do something that you thought he said but actually didn’t, then too bad.  You’re going to hell.  Kings had to play the Papal game, hang on every word of what that Roman despot wanted, because otherwise they would lose … forever.

Anyway, I’m pretty sure this isn’t true.  Simon Says evidently evolved from “Cicero Says” of ancient Roman times.  From there I heard it had some connection with Simon de Montfort in the 13th century.  But I haven’t confirmed any of this.  But I thought it was a good theory.  And I amused myself thinking it for quite some time.

That’s about it.  Bye.  (I’m going to write something good pretty soon … don’t worry).

About Remus

I am a teacher at a High School in Minnesota. I've taught History, Philosophy, Literature, and Psychology. That's about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

