Oh Death

What?  Vestal Morons?  I don’t think so.

Now that “Romulus” and I are not in Rome, the current theme of this blog is … well, non-existent.  That scares me.  A recipe for disaster, wouldn’t you say?  Furthermore, whereas before, Romulus and I were roommates … now, we live in different countries.  Wow.  That’s going to work out well.  Also, we are no longer care-free college students who could do anything without any consequences whatsoever.  Now we both have real jobs (sort of … right?) and are actually “busy” or whatever.  Romulus himself has been promoted to an actual father of multiple human beings!

I too have never been busier in my life.  I however am still a bachelor … so any carefree spirit I have will shamefully come from that.  But still … yeah.  You know what I’m talking about (do you?  because I don’t).  The audience potential now is not as it once was, since it previously drew upon the college we were once a part of.  So, it may consist of Romulus and I shouting imponderable riddles to the wind … as they say (is that what they say? … yeah, that’s what they say).

Further, the whole project may seem to reek of “two guys trying to live out the good ol’ college days” in an attempt to save themselves from a very early pre-mid-life crisis thing, now that they’ve realized that the high hopes they had for themselves have not been realized … and that ancient-sounding age of 30 looms ever closer.  The only answer, of course, is to immerse oneself in the nostalgic days of yore.  Those idealized times of Rome … and college … and lack of responsibility … and, in a word (two words actually), Vestal Morons!  You see the kind of thing that’s going on here?  Yeah, me too.  Not good.

And to top it all off, I’m deeply afraid that I’ll have nothing to say.  And yet I’m under the impression that I have so much world-changing stuff to say.  But will anyone give a crap?  Should I be concerned that no one might actually care?  The answer is probably no … or yes … or something along those lines.

In any case, we’re going to try this … and it will probably fail … but that’s okay.  Right?  You don’t have to answer that.  In fact, please don’t.  I’ve shed enough tears over this already (don’t worry, I really haven’t … I think I could shed some more tears).

And yes, I could take comfort in what Chesterton said: “If a thing is worth doing, it’s worth doing badly.”  But the clandestine fear that haunts me is whether this thing we’re doing is worth doing at all.  The only reason I say this is that I have no idea what we’re doing.

I hope you enjoy the blog.

About Remus

I am a teacher at a High School in Minnesota. I've taught History, Philosophy, Literature, and Psychology. That's about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh Death

  1. Sylvia says:

    Right on. This encapsulates the spirit of blogging!

  2. Adam says:

    I’ll be your audience of one.

  3. Ambrose says:

    Your lack of faith disturbs me.

  4. Sheila says:

    I for one am looking forward to seeing what comes out of this!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I demand an authoritative listing of your words and how to spell them.

  6. Tom says:

    Oh, shut up already:)

Leave a Reply

