The Shining and the Lunar Landing Hoax

So, the theory is that Stanley Kubrick, the director of the film The Shining (as well as 2001: A Space Odyssey and Dr. Strangelove, etc.) was hired by the US government to fabricate the Apollo 11 landing on the moon.  This is, of course, because the US never made it to the moon … though it was imperative that the world thought otherwise, lest we lose the technological/cultural prestige in the Cold War against Russia.  You know the story.

So, I was directed by a friend to this YouTube video that apparently shows how The Shining is Kubrick’s symbolic confession of all this.  I’m ashamed to say that it reminds me of things I seemed to see in Star Wars and Mary Poppins.  Same kind of curious coincidences … some of them being, perhaps, far-fetched but not too out there.  But I shy away from conspiracy theories like this, simply because I tend to believe them (and when I do, I start to feel insane).  MythBusters did a nice job assuaging my fears for a time, convincing me the Moon Landing was authentic … but now that this has come up, I don’t know.

I hope I’m not crazy.  That’s all I ask.

About Remus

I am a teacher at a High School in Minnesota. I've taught History, Philosophy, Literature, and Psychology. That's about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

